Home   Council & democracy   Community Wealth Building (CWB)   Community Wealth Building in Ayrshire

Community Wealth Building in Ayrshire

Community Wealth Building Commission

The Ayrshire Community Wealth Building Commission is chaired by Councillor Marie Burns, Leader of North Ayrshire Council. Its purpose is to progress and promote the development of a collaborative approach to Community Wealth Building (CWB) in Scotland. It will:

  • work with and encourage wider local and regional Anchor Institutions in Community Wealth Building initiatives
  • share highlights, success stories and promote best practice among Anchor Institutions and stakeholders
  • track the implementation of the Community Wealth Building Ayrshire Anchor Charter
  • review policy and practice to deliver a more inclusive economy 

The Commission includes representation from:

  • senior Elected Members
  • council services
  • the Health and Social Care Integration Joint Board
  • Community Planning Partners (CPP)

This includes major Ayrshire Anchor Institutions: 

  • North Ayrshire Council
  • East Ayrshire Council
  • South Ayrshire Council
  • NHS Ayrshire and Arran
  • Scottish Fire and Rescue
  • Police Scotland
  • Ayrshire College
  • Scottish Enterprise
  • The Ayrshire Community Trust (Third Sector Interface)

Commission Meeting Minutes

CWB Lead Officer Working Group

The Lead Officer Working Group (LOWG) was established to take ownership of the Commission work plan and progress actions as directed by the Commission. 

Regional Economic Strategy (RES)

Ayrshire’s first ever Regional Economic Strategy was launched by the Ayrshire Economic Joint Committee in 2023. It is a 10 year strategy which aims to build wealth for everyone in Ayrshire. It is the first regional economic strategy in Scotland to embed Community Wealth Building principles throughout.