north-ayrshire.gov.uk uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about cookies.

Bin collection day

north-ayrshire.gov.uk uses cookies to make the site simpler

Find out more about cookies

Home   Bins, litter and recycling   Bins   Bin collection day

Bin collection day


Christmas Collection dates

Over the festive period the following collection days will change for the purple, blue, grey and brown bins. 

If your normal collection day does not fall on these days it will be unaffected and remain the same.

Mainland and Cumbrae collection dates

 Normal Collection Day Festive Collection Day
 Wednesday 25 December 2019  Saturday 21 December 2019
Thursday 26 December 2019 Sunday 22 December 2019
 Wednesday 1 January 2020  Saturday 28 December 2019
 Thursday 2 January 2020  Sunday 29 December 2019

Arran collection dates

 Normal Collection DayFestive Collection Day 
 Wednesday 25 December 2019  Friday 27 December 2019
 Friday 27 December 2019 Saturday 28 December 2019 
Wednesday 1 January 2020  Friday 3 January 2020
 Friday 3 January 2020  Saturday 4 January 2020

We will not uplift extra bags left next to a bin. 

Large flat packed cardboard can be placed next to your blue bin on the day of collection over the festive period.

  • Blue Bin - Paper, Card & Cardboard
  • Purple Bin - Glass, Cans, Plastic & Cartons
  • Brown Bin - Food Waste & Garden Waste
  • Grey Bin - Residual Waste

Further Information

Please put your bin out for 7am on the morning of your collection.

The actual time of collection may vary during the festive period. If adverse weather affects your area we will return to uplift your bin when possible.

The last special uplift collection for 2019 will be Friday 20 December 2019. Special uplift bookings for the New Year will start on Monday 6 January 2020.

Household Waste Recycling Centres will be closed Wednesday  25 December and Thursday 26 December 2019. They will also be closed Wednesday 1 January and Thursday 2 January 2020, but will open as normal every other day.

Please refer to your collection calendar for real Christmas tree uplift dates. 

To find out your bin collection day:

  1. type your postcode into YourLocation
  2. click the Search button
  3. select your property from the list
  4. import iCalendar to your smart phone or computer to view bin collection days at a glance, or print a PDF for your kitchen wall

Collection Cycle

Grey, blue and purple bins are collected every three weeks. Brown bins are collected every fortnight.