Home   News   New Provost Recognition Awards launched at Cunninghame House

New Provost Recognition Awards launched at Cunninghame House

Posted on 25 Sep 2019
LOCAL community champions across North Ayrshire’s six localities are set to be celebrated by North Ayrshire Provost Ian Clarkson.

The Provost Recognition Awards will kick off in May 2020 and will recognise those inspiring and influential groups/individuals who have made a difference in their localities.

These awards are a variation on the Provost’s Civic Pride Awards, which have been running for the last nine years, and aim to get into the very heart of our communities.

Nominations will open on Valentine’s Day 2020 and awards ceremonies will take place in each of the localities – Irvine, Kilwinning, North Coast and Cumbrae, Arran, Garnock Valley and the Three Towns – in May.

Provost Clarkson said: “I am absolutely delighted to be launching the Recognition Awards. I have loved being involved in the Civic Pride Awards - they have been hugely successful.

“But I felt we needed to try and get right into our localities to find even more gems within our communities.

 “The new format will see award events aligned with our locality partnerships which will see more local people rewarded for the excellent work they carry out

 “The partnerships will be involved in the shortleeting process and we hope lots of local people get involved and nominate the people or groups who make a difference to them, their families or just the community in general.”

 The Award categories are as follows:

  • Community Group of the Year
  • Citizen of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Special Achievement Award

 The Provost Recognition Awards will take place in each locality as follows:

  • Saturday 16 May, Largs Campus, 11-1pm
  • Monday 18 May, Garnock Campus, 7pm -9pm
  • Tuesday 19 May, Volunteer Rooms, Irvine, 7pm – 9pm
  • Wednesday 20 May, Kilwinning Academy, 7pm – 9pm
  • Thursday 21 May, Saltcoats Town Hall, 7pm -9pm
  • Saturday 23 May, Arran High School, 11am -1pm