Home   Council & democracy   Council information   Council structure

Council structure

North Ayrshire Council's job is to ensure our area is a great place to work, live, visit and invest in.

By working with our partners, we deliver local services ranging from education, social care and housing, to libraries, refuse collection and benefits.

The Council employs over 6,500 staff. Its most senior official is the Chief Executive, Craig Hatton.

Craig, along with the Executive Leadership Team, oversees the delivery of all of our services.

The current Chief Officer and Directorate Structure (PDF, 2.3mb) includes the following core services:

  • Chief Executive’s
  • Communities
  • Place 
  • Health and Social Care Partnership
  • Chief Executive’s Service includes Head of Service (Democratic), Head of Service (Finance), Head of Service (People & ICT) who directly report to the Council’s Chief Executive.
  • Executive Director - Communities supported by two Heads of Service (Education) and one Head of Service (Connected Communities).
  • Executive Director - Place supported by Head of Service (Housing and Public Protection), Head of Service (Sustainability, Transport & Corporate Property), Head of Service (Economic Development, Growth & Investment) and Head of Service (Neighbourhood Services).
  • Director - Health & Social Care Partnership supported by Head of Service (Children, Families & Justice), Head of Service (Health & Community Care), Head of Service (Mental Health), Head of Service (HSCP Finance & Transformation) and Chief Social Work Officer.

Is this page useful?