Home   Council & democracy   Community Wealth Building (CWB)   What is the CWB Commission?

What is the Community Wealth Building Commission?

The Ayrshire Community Wealth Building Commission is chaired by Cllr Joe Cullinane, Leader of North Ayrshire Council, and its purpose is to progress and promote the development of a collaborative approach to Community Wealth Building in Ayrshire, ensuring Ayrshire remains at the forefront of Community Wealth Building in Scotland. It will:

  • work with and encourage wider local and regional Anchor Institutions in Community Wealth Building initiatives
  • share highlights, success stories and promote best practice among Anchor Institutions and stakeholders
  • monitor the implementation of the Community Wealth Building Ayrshire Anchor Charter
  • review policy and practice to deliver a more inclusive economy

The Commission includes representation from:

  • senior Elected Members
  • Council services
  • the Health and Social Care Integration Joint Board
  • Community Planning Partners (CPP)

This includes major Ayrshire Anchor Institutions:

  • North Ayrshire Council
  • East Ayrshire Council
  • South Ayrshire Council
  • NHS Ayrshire and Arran
  • Scottish Fire and Rescue
  • Police Scotland
  • Ayrshire College
  • Scottish Enterprise
  • The Ayrshire Community Trust (Third Sector Interface)

Commission Meeting Minutes